Vedic Calendar

We use calendar to know the date, what day it is and to know on which date the festivals are celebrated. Back in days vedic calendar solved this purpose. Vedic calendar was mainly used for timekeeping.

Vedic Calendar is called “Panchangam”. Panchangam is a sanskrit word. When splitted, Pancha means “Five” and Angam means “Part”. For timekeeping, 5 important parts of the day are noted. They are

  1. Thithi
  2. Vaaram
  3. Yogam
  4. Nakshatram
  5. Karanam

Read More »

Planet Speed and Mythological Reference – Vedic Astrology

Story Time !!!

Remember? In our first post where we talked about the planets and its significance, we mentioned that there are so many references for astrology in Hindu Mythology. We are going to deal one such Story.

This part is from Epic “Ramayana”. Ravana was a great warrior and a great Shiva Bhakth too. He had a penance before the birth of his son (Indhrajith). He fought against all 9 planets and tied them to be on the 11th house during the birth of Indhrajith. 11th House corresponds to victory.

Read More »

Evolution of Horoscopic Chart

We discussed about the planets and the lunar mansions in the previous posts . Now let’s try to picture those information in form of a diagram .

We know that the planets are moving in certain speed and we have lunar mansion placements in the astronomical system . Horoscopic Chart is a way of interpreting this in a paper.

Okay . Let’s draw a square . Something like the picture given below . Now , imagine this square to be the astronomical unit. Each boundary in the square is the astronomical boundary and the planets are moving within this square.


Although the square looks empty for the naive eyes, the planets are revolving in the orbit inside the square. We understand the boundaries . But how do we measure the distance between the planets unless we know where they are placed ? Planets are not stationary objects. Different planets have different speed. Hence, at each point of time, the position of the planet in this square will be changing.

Read More »

Nakshatras(Lunar Mansions) – Vedic Astrology

In the previous post we read about 9 planets and it’s importance in vedic astrology . In this post we will discuss about Nakshatra(Lunar mansions).

Wiki defines it to be – “A lunar mansion is a segment of the ecliptic (often called a station or house) through which the moon passes in its orbit around earth”

Lets do a simple math here. We are imagining the entire system to be a circle and the planets are revolving in the orbit. Lets divide the entire orbit in 27 equal parts. Which gives us the number 13.33 or 13° 20′(360/27). Each segment in the orbit in which moon passes is called a nakshatra.

0° to 13°20′ is called Ashwini

13° 20′ – 26°40′ is called Bharani

and so on..Read More »

Introduction to Vedic Astrology

Astrology is a language. If you understand this language. The sky speaks to you.

There are several incidents which motivated me to learn vedic astrology. Although from text book, vedic astrology is something which evolved from Jyothda sastras, there are so many stories and incidents which emphasise and confirm the existence of vedic astrology several thousand years ago.

We would have seen horoscope of Lord Rama present in several astrology and Ramayana books. Vedic Astrology has deep connection with the events such as birth of Rama, his learning skills, character, exile, reclaiming the throne etc. The dasha and planet positions in the horoscope is said to be accurately matching with his life.

Another example is in Mahabharata. Sahadeva was one of the greatest astrologer who accurately predicted the events happened during the Kurukshetra war. In those days, astrology took a main role before starting any event. The story tells about the event when Sahadeva predicts the day to start the war.

Not only the epics, even astrologies existence are there in Veda Shastras. There are many other stories which relates to vedic astrology. In the forecoming blogs we will cover the stories and its correlation to vedic astrology.

Vedic Astrology not only deals with astronomy, it also deals with many different numeric figures in Mathematics. Lets start our basic lesson.

9 Planets in Vedic Astrology

  • Sun
  • Moon
  • Mercury
  • Venus
  • Mars
  • Jupiter
  • Saturn
  • Rahu
  • Kethu

Why only 9 planets. Earth is not considered ?

In every vedic astrology book or course, first thing we learn is about 9 planets. Astrology is about belief. There are no right or wrong answers here. We know that astrology is all about the galaxy and movement of planets in circular orbit. When planets move in the circular orbit, we need a point from which we can measure the movement. Which is Earth. Rahu and Ketu are front and back mirrors. We are trying to be on the center of circle(being on earth) and place the predictions based on the movement of planets

What is the correlation between the planets and our Life ?

We have many connections with these planets in our day to day life. First and foremost – Sun. Sunlight is the basic source for all human being. Say Moon, During No moon or Full moon day, we could have seen some people acting very strange and aggressively.

Planets like Uranus, Pluto , Neptune are not considered ?

When they had a mechanism to find out the existence of such planets, Why not neptune or pluto considered in vedic astrology. Did they were not aware of these planet ? No, thats not the case. Saturn is the farthest planet in our list. These planets are even farther than Saturn. Hence, the movement of these planets has very very less significance with human life. That is why, these planets are not there as part of the main list.

Astrology is not just a single subject. It has deep connections with Astronomy, Mathematics, Spirituality and more. Once we start studying about each, hundreds of questions arise. For some we get the answer of our own. Some are still unanswerable. Please feel free to post about the question on Planets and their behaviour in the comments. We will see more about them in the future posts as well.

Bhagavad Gita Chapter 1 Verse 21

Sanskrit Text: “Arjuna uvacha : senayor ubhayor madhye ratham sthapaya me acchutha”

Meaning: Arjuna requests Lord Krishna to drive his chariot into center of the two armies

Senayo: – Of the armies  – referring to the armies of Pandavas and Kauravas
Ubhayo – of both
Madhye – in the middle
Ratham – chariot
Sthapaya – stop
Me – My
Acchutha – the infallible

With no intention of fighting against his own kins, Arjuna requests his Sarathi to take him into the center of two armies. But, the question here is why he wants to move into the center of the army?

May be he wants to be a spectator and see what is going on against Pandavas or he is so curious to see the kins and relatives who turned against them.

In this world, we come across the same situation many times, when we have to make a decision and we are so confused on which side we should fall. Only way we can get clarity on situation is by standing in the middle and weighing with the pros and cons of the situation. May be thats what Arjuna is trying to do.

Learning L shaped OLL

There are 6 L shaped OLLs . In that first two can be easily memorized as one is mirror case of another . 

For the faster recognition I always write oll algorithm in notebook with a 2D notation.

First case is pretty easy to recognize. The hyphen in the outer layer denotes the yellow color . And “T” is RUR’U’.

Second case is easy to execute . But for faster recognition it would be easy to memorize it as third diagram.